Monday Music (4/24/2017)

“The Glow Pt. 2” By: The Microphones

Monday, April 24, 2017

the glow pt 2 art

For an album that came out in 2001, “The Glow Pt. 2” was way ahead of its time. This “new-to-me” album is an album that I wish I would have heard years ago. Recently I have been going through a situation where I just keep listening to the same albums, by the same artists over and over again. I have been trying for weeks to find something new to latch onto. I have asked for suggestions and even used websites where you plug in bands you like and it will recommend similar sounding bands for you. However, nothing has really grabbed my attention.

However, about a week ago, I was on Spotify and I was browsing under their discover section. That is when I found this glorious piece of music. In one of my top recommendations was “The Glow Pt. 2” and I figured I may as well listen to the first song and see if I like it. Usually, if the first song or two can’t grab my attention, I dismiss it. With this album, however, I couldn’t stop listening to it. “The Glow Pt. 2” is everything I have been looking for. It starts very relaxing and mellow, with beautiful acoustic guitars and the most soothing vocals. More instruments begin to enter and the most subtle of build ups begin. There are different spots in the album where it is nice and relaxed and then very heavy drums and guitar will kick back in. “The Glow Pt. 2” is a mixture of mellow, thinking music and intense, loud, heart racing music. The Microphones keep the listener engaged and make it so you never really know what is going to happen next.

“The Glow Pt. 2” is an album that I regret not knowing about much sooner. This being the case, I would regret not having other people know about it because everyone should enjoy this album. I can say that it might not be for everyone, but I believe that everyone should at least listen to it once. There is a profound appreciation that can be had by all for an album of such high artistic quality. Whether you need and album to put on during your driving this week, or an album to put on after a day at school/work, be sure to give “The Glow Pt. 2” a chance.

“The Glow Pt. 2” By: The Microphones  (Listen here on Spotify)

ALSO CHECK OUT:

“good night for a cigarette” by milwaukee

“Good night for a cigarette” is a single that was released last night (4/23/17) by indie artist milwaukee. Milwaukee makes a series of different lo-fi beats that are “designed to relax you.” Currently, milwaukee has an ongoing series of short songs called “The Minute Series” that will be running through June. Later this year, milwaukee plans on putting out a full length tape of music that will be sure to present you with good, chill vibes.

Stay tuned for milwaukee’s full length tape, check out “the minute series” and go give “good night for a cigarette” a listen here:

“good night for a cigarette”

“The Minute Series”

Milwaukee on Bandcamp 

Have a good week, and more music coming next Monday!

Leave a Reply

